dealing with pain and dysfunction



Is there a Bat Signal for hippies?

Because I could use some homeopathic help, yo.  This yeast monster appears to be here to stay.  It’s been a couple weeks and it’s lived through a prescription Diflucan and a round of Monistat.  I don’t usually have to deal with this sort of thing, so for me, this seems like a pretty epic infection.  And I can’t blame it on the baby washcloths anymore, though I’m sure that didn’t help any.  I’m on a daily antibiotic for my bad skin, and sorry, but my vanity isn’t going anywhere and neither are the antibiotics.  Hence the killer yeast.  This sucks for many obvious reasons.  The worst: I’m back on campus and walking everywhere, and it’s pretty damn excruciating.

But also, I can’t resume dilator therapy until this is cleared up, because I’m not getting these expensive dilators all yeasty and reinfecting myself every week.  Eww.  So every day that I’m still dealing with this is a therapy day lost.  I also can’t start using the new topical cream until the yeast is gone.  Really, I’m getting nowhere as far as vulvodynia treatment until this sucker is dead.

So in the interest of adding hippie knowledge to the internet, here’s a list of good, old-fashioned home remedies for the yeastie beasties!  Unfortunately I don’t drive, so I can’t get myself to the co-op until this weekend, but rest assured I’ll be trying all this shit asap.  And since I just thrive on TMI, expect updates!

Gentian violet – aka”‘your granny’s cure.”  If you can even find this stuff, soak a tampon with about two tablespoons of GV, insert.  Paint the vulva with a GV-soaked cotton ball.  Remove the tampon after 2-6 hours.  BONUS:  This stuff stains everything bright bright purple!  Well, I think it’s pretty… but remember not to wear cute underwear.

Yogurt.  Use unsweetened, unflavored yogurt to raise the vagina’s pH.  There are a few ways of doing this, and they’re all pretty messy.  First, you can just sorta smear some yogurt around and hope for the best.  Second, if you don’t mind the cold, fill the fingertips of a rubber glove with yogurt and freeze.  Insert like a tampon–it’s a vag popsicle!  I’ve heard it works pretty well.  I probably won’t go this route this weekend, being that I’m in Ithaca and I’m cold enough without having something literally frozen inside of me.  Third, if you have a menstrual cup, you can fill/cover it with yogurt and insert.

Garlic.  Pierce a clove of garlic with a thread or wrap in cheesecloth and tie.  Insert the garlic pessary overnight, and remove in the morning.  Don’t be alarmed if it’s changed color–that’s totally normal.  Downside:  garlic breath, srsly.

Apple Cider Vinegar Douche.  Mix two tablespoons vinegar to a pint of warm water and douche to raise the pH of the vagina.  Do not use longer than 10 days, and do not use on a regular basis–this is a short term fix only.

Boric Acid.  This can be bought in powder form at most drugstores.  While you’re there, get empty capsules (ask the pharmacist), and make your own boric acid caps at home.  Insert overnight for one week.  Boric acid can also be used as a douche, one teaspoon boric acid to one cup warm water.  Careful not to use this if you have a lot of irritation or any broken skin, as it may exacerbate the problem.

Potassium Sorbate.  Find a 3% solution and soak a tampon with two tablespoons potassium sorbate.  Insert overnight and remove in the morning.

Acidophilus.  Can be purchased in capsule form at any drugstore.  Insert overnight and remove in the morning.

As for preventative remedies, AZO Yeast works very well (and in a pinch can fight off an infection if you catch it early enough and are willing to swallow like six of these horse pills a day), as does regularly drinking strong cranberry juice.

So I guess that’s all for my PSA, happy yeast fighting!  If nothing else, the fact-checking was a good reminder for me as to how to properly use all of these methods I’ve collected over the years.  I’m pretty stoked to be done with this infection soon… I really need to get back on track with physical therapy.  I’d also like to set up an appointment with Christine Feely, the pelvic floor physical therapist I was seeing last year, but obviously I can’t go in like this.  Hmph.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Esther says:

    You can buy pre-made boric-acid capsules! Search Amazon for Yeast Arrest. I’ve never used it on a serious infection, but just one dose helps me feel less icky around my period.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * traveltothesky says:

    Yay! Thanks, Esther. I’ll try to find those this weekend, that sounds like a lot less of a hassle.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * marit says:

    Homeopathic yeast treatments include: Yeastaway insertibles which I happen to have right here in front of me and I never used and there is no f’ing way I’m inserting these things BUUUT…

    active ingredient: Borax 1x, calendula officinalis 1x, candida albicans 30x (it’s supposed to be there in terms of homeopathy,) hydrastis canadensis 1x.

    Oral homeopathic which I HAVE tried but it didn’t do jack maybe because yeast was not the problem: Dynamic Nutritional Associate’s D-83 Candia Albicans and …. something… big green bottle that tasted like Celery… came in an A & B variety… you start with A then switch off to B after a few weeks to maintain… can no longer remember the name :( Ask your local acupuncturist, they should be Down with that sort of thing.
    The lady who runs the alternative medicine store that I bought these from recommended reducing sugar intake while using these products.

    Also potentially of interest to you will be the anti-yeat diet cookbooks. Which I can’t say if they’re any good or not.

    Are you sure you can’t go off the antibiotics? I assure you, the Burt’s Bees topicals + Jason’s Vitamin E Oil work much better for me than all 4 of the anti-acne treatments I was on at the same time, combined.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

