dealing with pain and dysfunction



Day of Needles.

Thankfully, I tested negative for lupus.  On the other hand, that meant a whole lot more tests to deal with (again).  I had to get a CAT scan on Friday, and they didn’t tell me that I would need an IV.  I don’t know what the deal is with IV’s, but they make me absolutely hysterical.  So I started my day flailing and shrieking at a nurse for doing her job–I swear I’m not crazy, it just hurts like hell and makes me freak out for some reason.  Then I had to get blood drawn to test for a bunch more crazy diseases, but since I’ve had so much blood drawn recently, all my good veins were bruised up.  So they used a vein in the side of my arm.  Okay, I will never let anyone do that again.  It SUCKED, and saying that those veins are “a little sensitive” is in the running for understatement of the year, right up there with “so, you feel a little nauseous?”  And then I went to my first acupuncture appointment, which was another 14 needles.  The first treatment was great, and the needling sensation isn’t at all what I had expected.  It’s just a bit of pressure and some tingling.  I have two more appointments this week, and I’m hoping to talk to my acupuncturist about the pelvic pain, as well.  It worked fabulously for the nausea and dizziness, so I think it’d be a good option for trying to deal with vulvodynia, as well.  She gave me an herbal supplement to take, and I think I’m liking this Traditional Chinese Medicine approach much more than the Western approach that has done exactly nothing for me.

And after all that, my gastroenterologist thinks that the (TWO MONTHS OF) nausea and stomach pain are from stress and anxiety.  I was trying so hard not to cry/laugh in his face, but he gave me this talk about how this diagnosis is one of exclusion, we have to rule out everything else that could be causing it, and there’s just this class of stomach pain that they call “dyspepsia” so it has a name.  OMG, sound familiar?  Vulvodynia is a diagnosis of exclusion, you don’t have a yeast infection, you don’t have BV, you don’t have ANYTHING, so we’ll just call it “pain in the vulva” so it has a name.  So there’s one more health problem caused by stress and anxiety.  I’m seeing another therapist on campus, and I have an appointment with a psychiatrist coming up soon so we can talk about anti-anxiety medication.  I resisted being medicated for anxiety for years, but really, if it’s manifesting as debilitating physical problems, I’m going to do whatever I have to in order to fix it.  Even if it means drugging myself.

Leave a Reply

